Policy Agenda


BTA is North America’s premier authority on issues affecting the U.S. northern and southern borders, representing a large grassroots network of over 4.2 million public...

Learn MorE


Board of Directors

Paola Avila (Chair)
Vice President, International Business Affairs
San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce

Frank Bateman
Group Director
Ryder Supply Chain Solutions

Luis Bazan
Pharr International Bridge

Sofia Benavides
Cameron County, Texas

Hector Cerna
President & CEO
International Bank of Commerce – Eagle Pass, Texas

Sergio Contreras (Vice Chair)
President and CEO
Rio Grande Valley Partnership

Richard Cortez
Former City Commissioner
City of McAllen

Bob Costello
Chief Economist and Sr. Vice President
American Trucking Associations

Ralph Cowen
Port of Brownsville

Paul J. Curtin
Vice President
Hunt Valley Development

Jim Darling
City of McAllen, Texas

Bret Erickson
J&D Produce

Jose Escamilla
Vice President of Trade Development
Border Pacific Railroad

Louis Escareno
Attorney at Law
Duty Free Americas, Inc.

Dante Galeazzi
President and CEO
Texas International Produce Association

Denice Garcia
Director of Binational Affairs
Mayor’s Office, City of San Diego

Josue “Josh” Garcia
Executive Director
Cameron County Bridge System

Neftali Garcia
Vice  President

Ivan Jaime
Director of Border and Community Affairs
Union Pacific Railroad

Russell Jones (Immediate Past Chair)
Russell L. Jones Customhouse Brokers

Lance Jungmeyer
Fresh Produce Association of the Americas

Stan Korosec
Director of Security, Canadian Governmental Relations
Canadian Transit Company Ambassador Bridge

Jose “Pepe” Larroque
San Diego Tijuana Smart Border Coalition

Derek Leathers
Werner Enterprises

Alex Meade

Mission EDC

Kathleen Neal
Director, Global Trade Compliance
Regal Beloit

Joseph Palacios
Hidalgo County, Texas

David Panko
Foreign Trade Zone Manager
City of El Paso, Texas

Javier Quijano
North American Sr. Manager, Trade and Compliance
Aptiv Corp.

John Renison
County Supervisor
Imperial County, California

Dr. Jesus Rene Reyna
Executive Bridge Director, Donna Rio Bravo International Bridge
City of Donna, Texas

Richard Ridings
Vice President

Ron Rienas
General Manager
Buffalo-Ft. Erie Public Bridge Authority

Daniel O. Rios, P.E.
Senior Vice President
S&B Infrastructure, Ltd.

Matias Rosales
City Councilmember
City of San Luis

Jorge Ruiz
Baker & McKenzie

Jim Ryan
Sr. Vice President, Government Affairs
Constellation Brands Beer Division

Pete Saenz
City of Laredo

Pete Sepulveda, Jr.

Executive Director
Cameron County Regional Mobility Authority

James “Jim” Smith
Director of Trade Compliance
A.O. Smith Corporation

Vic Smith
Skyview Cooling Co.

Paul Stresow
Director, International Bridges
City of El Paso

Jenny Torres
Community Development Coordinator
City of San Luis

Samuel F. Vale  
President & CEO
Starr Camargo Bridge Company

Olivia Varela
Executive Director
Laredo Development Foundation

Ralph Velez
City of San Luis

Rigo Villarreal
Superintendent International Bridges
City of McAllen, Texas